Sunday, 16 December 2012

Karpal appointed DAP chairman for third time; Guan Eng remains sec-gen

GEORGE TOWN: DAP strongman Karpal Singh (pic) was re-appointed party chairman by the central executive committee (CEC ) during the 16th DAP National Congress here Sunday.
This is the third time Karpal has been appointed to the post since 2004.
Incumbent Lim Guan Eng, who is also Penang Chief Minister, was re-appointed secretary-general.
Meanwhile, Tan Kok Wai replaced former deputy chairman Dr Seng Giaw.
The number of positions for vice-chairman was increased from four to five, with Chow Kon Yeow, M. Kulasegaran, Chong Chieng Jen, Teresa Kok and Dr Ariffin Omar apppointed to the post.
Ten CEC members were appointed - Dr Tan Seng GiawDr P. Ramasamy, Dr Ariffin Omar, Zairil Khir Johari, Jimmy Wong Sze Phin, Dr John Brian AnthonyDr Edwin Bosi, Leong Ngah Ngah, V. Sivakumar and Thomas Su Keong Siong.
Dr Seng Giaw was dropped from the CEC list after getting only 802 votes from 1,823 delegates during the congress elections Saturday.
Earlier Sunday, the newly-elected 20 CEC members had a hour-long closed-door meeting to appoint party positions.
A new Pakatan Rakyat bureau has been set up to strengthen the collaboration between the party and its PKR and PAS counterparts, and it will be chaired by Teng Chang Khim.

The full list for DAP's new CEC line-up:
Chairman: Karpal Singh
Deputy chairman: Tan Kok Wai
Vice-chairman: Chow Kon Yeow, M. Kulasegaran, Chong Chieng Jen, Teresa Kok, Dr Ariffin Omar
Secretary-general: Lim Guan Eng
Deputy secretary-general: Dr P. Ramasamy, Chong Eng, Ngeh Koo Ham
National treasurer: Fong Kui Lun
Assistant national treasurer: Nga Kor Meng
National organising secretary: Anthony Loke Siew Fook
Assistant national organising secretary: Vincent Wu Him Ven, Thomas Su Keong Siong
National publicity secretary: Tony Pua
Assistant national publicity secretary: Teo Nie Ching, Zairil Khir Johari
Political education secretary: Liew Chin Tong
Assistant political education secretary: Dr Boo Cheng Hau
International secretary: V. Sivakumar
CEC members: Lim Kit Siang, Dr Tan Seng Giaw, Teng Chang Khim, Leong Ngah Ngah, Jimmy Wong Sze Phin, Dr Edwin Bosi, Dr John Brian Anthony, Gobind Singh
10 appointed CEC members: Dr Tan Seng Gia, Dr P. Ramasamy, Dr Ariffin Omar, Zairil Khir Johari, Jimmy Wong Sze Phin, Dr John Brian Anthony, Dr Edwin Bosi, Leong Ngah Ngah, V. Sivakumar, Thomas Su Keong Siong
Life advisor: Dr Chen Man Hin
Disciplinary board chairman: Tan Kok Wai
Legal bureau chairman: Gobind Singh Deo
Pakatan Rakyat bureau chairman: Teng Chang Khim
Culture bureau chairman: P. Gunasekaran
Labour bureau chairman: A. Sivanesan

    No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Get widget